Faculty & Staff Directory | Burgundy Farm Country Day School Skip to main content

You are here

Faculty & Staff Directory

Early Childhood faculty

Tracy Camp-Johnston's picture

Tracy Camp-Johnston

WonderLab Teacher
B.A., James Madison University
tracyc@burgundyfarm.org
Mike Conners's picture

Mike Conners

JK Teacher
B.S., U.S. Air Force Academy
M.A., American University
mikec@burgundyfarm.org
Kate Franck's picture

Kate Franck

Kindergarten Teacher
B.S., Elon University
M.A.T., Lewis and Clark College
katef@burgundyfarm.org
Barbie Holland's picture

Barbie Holland

Kindergarten Teacher
B.S., Baldwin-Wallace College
M.Ed., George Mason University
barbieh@burgundyfarm.org
Kamilah Mitchell's picture

Kamilah Mitchell

Junior Kindergarten Teacher
B.A., University of the District of Columbia
kamilahm@burgundyfarm.org
Elizabeth ( Nibley's picture

Elizabeth (Abramson) Nibley

Kindergarten Teacher
B.S., University of Vermont
M.Ed., University of Virginia
elizabetha@burgundyfarm.org
Nicole Pagett's picture

Nicole Pagett

Kindergarten Teacher
B.S., Colorado State University
M.Ed., National-Louis University
nicolep@burgundyfarm.org

Elementary faculty

Mary Akeley's picture

Mary Akeley

4/5 Teacher
B.A., Marlboro College
M.A., Vermont College
marya@burgundyfarm.org
Angela Baek's picture

Angela Baek

4/5 Teacher
B.S., St. Joseph's University
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
angelab@burgundyfarm.org
Andrea Brown's picture

Andrea Brown

First Grade Teacher
B.A., Bryn Mawr College
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
andreab@burgundyfarm.org
Ann Douglas's picture

Ann Douglas

First Grade Teacher
B.A., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
M.Ed., James Madison University
annd@burgundyfarm.org
Jenny Friedl's picture

Jenny Friedl

First Grade Assistant Teacher
B.A., Hampshire College
M.S., University of Maine
M.Ed. University of Maine
jennyf@burgundyfarm.org
Vicki Hayes's picture

Vicki Hayes

2/3 Teacher
A.B, Barnard College
M.S.Ed., Bank Street College of Education
M.F.A., American University
vickih@burgundyfarm.org
Erin Kelly's picture

Erin Kelly

2/3 Teacher
B.A., St. Mary's College
M.Ed., George Washington University
erink@burgundyfarm.org
Dana LesPierre's picture

Dana LesPierre

2/3 Teacher
B.A., University of Rhode Island
danal@burgundyfarm.org
Sharon McCullough's picture

Sharon McCullough

Lower School Reading Specialist
sharonm@burgundyfarm.org
Kimberly Mott's picture

Kimberly Mott

4/5 Teacher
B.A., University of California-Santa Barbara
M.A., University of Phoenix
kimberlym@burgundyfarm.org
Tricia Schulze's picture

Tricia Schulze

First Grade Assistant Teacher
tricias@burgundyfarm.org
Carol Schwartz's picture

Carol Schwartz

Science Teacher
B.A., University of Massachusetts at Amherst
M.Ed., Temple University
carols@burgundyfarm.org
Efrem Solomon's picture

Efrem Solomon

2/3 Teacher
B.A., George Mason University
M.Ed., George Mason University
efrems@burgundyfarm.org
Megan Stack's picture

Megan Stack

4/5 Teacher
B.A., Marywood University
M.A., University of Scranton
megans@burgundyfarm.org
Barb Turner's picture

Barb Turner

Lower School Learning and Differentiation Specialist
B.S., The Ohio State University
M.A., American University
barbt@burgundyfarm.org

Middle School faculty

Lee Bissett's picture

Lee Bissett

Middle School Math Teacher & School Math Specialist
Homeroom Teacher
B.S., North Carolina State University
M.A., University of Maryland
leeb@burgundyfarm.org
Joseph Edwards's picture

Joseph Edwards

Humanities Teacher
Homeroom Teacher
B.A., Columbia University
M.Ed., Towson University
josephe@burgundyfarm.org
Doug Fishman's picture

Doug Fishman

Math and Science Teacher
Homeroom Teacher
B.S., George Washington University
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia Universityæ
dougf@burgundyfarm.org
Chiquita McCoy's picture

Chiquita McCoy

Middle School Learning Specialist
Homeroom Teacher
chiquitam@burgundyfarm.org
Renee Miller's picture

Renee Miller

Science Teacher
Homeroom Teacher
B.A., Albion College (Michigan)
M.S., University of Wisconsin
M.A., University of Michigan
reneem@burgundyfarm.org
Levita Mondie's picture

Levita Mondie

Humanities Teacher
B.S., University of Tennessee
M.A., University of Maryland
levitam@burgundyfarm.org
Paige Pluymers-Durand's picture

Paige Pluymers-Durand

Humanities Teacher
Homeroom Teacher
B.S., Western Washington University
M.Ed., Grand Canyon University
paigep@burgundyfarm.org
Charlene Pritzker's picture

Charlene Pritzker

Math Teacher
Community Service Coordinator
B.A., Bryn Mawr College
M.A., Brandeis University
M.Ed., University of Virginia
charlenep@burgundyfarm.org
Cara Will's picture

Cara Will

Humanities Teacher
Homeroom Teacher
B.A., San Francisco State University
M.Ed., Bank Street College of Education
caraw@burgundyfarm.org

Specials faculty

Joanna Ashton's picture

Joanna Ashton

Librarian
B.A., University of Manchester
M.Sc., University of Newcastle
joannaa@burgundyfarm.org
Prince Botchway's picture

Prince Botchway

Physical Education Teacher
B.S., Averett University
M.S., Southern New Hampshire University
princeb@burgundyfarm.org
Matt Brady's picture

Matt Brady

Music Teacher
B.A., Rutgers University
M.A., New York University
mattb@burgundyfarm.org
Ivana Bulirova's picture

Ivana Bulirova

Physical Education Teacher
Coach
M.S., Charles University, Prague
ivanab@burgundyfarm.org
Roberta Cullen's picture

Roberta Cullen

Drama Teacher
B.G.S., Ohio University
robertac@burgundyfarm.org
Maria Espinoza's picture

Maria Espinoza

Spanish Teacher
B.A., Florida International University
M.A., Florida International University
mariae@burgundyfarm.org
Connie Fleres's picture

Connie Fleres

Art Teacher
Auckland Art School, New Zealand
Corcoran School of Art
Northern Virginia Community College
connief@burgundyfarm.org
Chris Hughes's picture

Chris Hughes

French Teacher
B.A., Georgetown University
M.A. (2), George Mason University
chrish@burgundyfarm.org
Mary Iannone's picture

Mary Iannone

Art Teacher
B.A., Indiana University
maryi@burgundyfarm.org
Emily "EJ" Jonas '03's picture

Emily "EJ" Jonas '03

Drama Teacher
B.A., University of Delaware
M.A., Emerson College (2017 candidate)
emilyj@burgundyfarm.org
Barbara Krainik's picture

Barbara Krainik

Librarian
B.A., Marymount University
barbarak@burgundyfarm.org
Cathy Manley's picture

Cathy Manley

Music Teacher
B.A., New England Conservatory of Music
cathym@burgundyfarm.org
Bethany (Sindy) McCoy's picture

Bethany (Sindy) McCoy

Athletic Director & PE Teacher
Homeroom Teacher
B.S., Davis & Elkins College
M.S., West Virginia University
bethanys@burgundyfarm.org
Marisa Muñoz's picture

Marisa Muñoz

Spanish Teacher
B.A., Universidad de Deusto
M.A, Universidad de Deusto
M.A., American University
marisam@burgundyfarm.org
Annie Rocha's picture

Annie Rocha

Art Teacher
A.A., Montgomery College
Bennett University, Brazil
Candido Mendes University, Brazil
annier@burgundyfarm.org
Carrie Ustun's picture

Carrie Ustun

World Languages Teacher
B.A., Dickinson College
carrieu@burgundyfarm.org
Taylor Welch's picture

Taylor Welch

Photography Teacher
taylorw@burgundyfarm.org

Staff

Lori Adams's picture

Lori Adams

Director of Admission
A.B., Ripon College
loria@burgundyfarm.org
Russell Boone's picture

Russell Boone

Maintenance Assistant
russellb@burgundyfarm.org
Kim Britton's picture

Kim Britton

Accountant
B.S., George Mason University
kimb@burgundyfarm.org
Jamie Dorrier's picture

Jamie Dorrier

Account Manager
B.A., Susquehanna University
jamied@burgundyfarm.org
Gene Douglas's picture

Gene Douglas

Maintenance Assistant
gened@burgundyfarm.org
Jared Givarz's picture

Jared Givarz

Middle School Head
B.S., James Madison University
M.Ed., Johns Hopkins University
jaredg@burgundyfarm.org
Matt Goldman's picture

Matt Goldman

Technology Support and Integration Specialist
B.S., Frostburg State University
B.A., University of Maryland Baltimore County
M.L.I.S., University of Washington
mattg@burgundyfarm.org
Cathy Guertin's picture

Cathy Guertin

Executive Assistant to the Head of School
B.A., University of Texas at San Antonio
cathyg@burgundyfarm.org
Pat Harden's picture

Pat Harden

Counselor
Diversity and Inclusion Coordinator
path@burgundyfarm.org
Kathleen Hennessey's picture

Kathleen Hennessey

Administrative Assistant/Registrar/Database Manager
kathleenh@burgundyfarm.org
Holden Hoover '03's picture

Holden Hoover '03

Maintenance Assistant
holdenh@burgundyfarm.org
Christen Kinard's picture

Christen Kinard

Communications Manager
B.A., University of South Carolina
M.A., Norwich University
christenk@burgundyfarm.org
Elizabeth Lener's picture

Elizabeth Lener

Assistant Head of School
B.A., SUNY Binghamton
M.A.T., Lewis and Clark College
elizabethl@burgundyfarm.org
Michele McCabe's picture

Michele McCabe

Advancement and Alumni Coordinator
BCWS Registrar
michelem@burgundyfarm.org
Kathy Miller's picture

Kathy Miller

Director of Finance and Operations
B.S., Virginia Commonwealth University
kathym@burgundyfarm.org
Laura Motaweh's picture

Laura Motaweh

Auxiliary Services Registrar/Administrative Assistant
A.S., Gibbs College
B.A., American Intercontinental University
lauram@burgundyfarm.org
John Murphy's picture

John Murphy

Facilities Manager
johnm@burgundyfarm.org
Allison Niedbala's picture

Allison Niedbala

Fall Fair and Auction Coordinator
B.A., Tufts University
allisonn@burgundyfarm.org
Joe Peacock's picture

Joe Peacock

Director of Technology
B.A., College of the Atlantic
M.A., Middlebury College
M.A., Yale University
joep@burgundyfarm.org
Matt Sahlin's picture

Matt Sahlin

Director of Advancement
B.S., Trinity College
matts@burgundyfarm.org
Vini Schoene's picture

Vini Schoene

Director of Burgundy Center for Wildlife Studies
B.A., Harvard and Radcliffe Colleges
M.Ed., Lesley College
vinis@burgundyfarm.org
Ali Shepard '04's picture

Ali Shepard '04

Caretaker
Permanent Substitute Teacher
alis@burgundyfarm.org
David Sicree's picture

David Sicree

Cooper's Cove Coordinator/Plant Manager
davids@burgundyfarm.org
Jeff Sindler's picture

Jeff Sindler

Head of School
B.A., Duke University
M.A., Middlebury College, Bread Loaf School
jeffs@burgundyfarm.org
Jeff Sindler's picture

Jeff Sindler

Head of School
B.A., Duke University
M.A., Middlebury College, Bread Loaf School
jeffs@burgundyfarm.org
Jeff is an alumni and current parent, and has been at Burgundy since 2006. His favorite Burgundy places are: the Burgundy Center for Wildlife Studies (all of this West Virginia campus!), the Treehouse, and any classroom!

Prior to coming to Burgundy, Jeff served as headmaster for 10 years at Baltimore’s St. Ignatius Loyola Academy, a highly successful tuition-free, year-round middle school for Baltimore City boys.

Following graduation from Duke University, where he played varsity lacrosse and earned academic ACC Academic Honor Roll distinction, Jeff served as an administrator, teacher of English, coach, dorm parent and alumni director at his alma mater, McDonogh School (Baltimore). He later taught and coached for a year in the Baltimore City Public Schools before continuing his career as a teacher and coach at the Kinkaid School (Houston). Before his time in Houston, earned a master’s degree from Middlebury College’s Bread Loaf School of English. Jeff later took coursework with Johns Hopkins University’s Program for Educational Leadership.

Jeff brings to Burgundy an educational philosophy that honors the individual needs of each learner and that focuses on meeting students where they are socially, emotionally and academically, building on children’s previous learning and life experiences. Jeff is a strong advocate of differentiated instruction and project-based learning and sees Burgundy as a prominent leader in progressive education and environmental science, as well as a model for diversity, social justice, and collaboration.

Jeff was a founding board member of the Washington DC SEED Public Charter Boarding School, is currently Vice President of the board for the Emerging Scholars program of Northern Virginia, a Prep for Prep academic and leadership program, and has consulted with several alternative, academically focused start-up schools that serve urban and under-served students. He is also a current trustee with the Virginia Association of Independent Schools and the Association of Independent Schools of Greater Washington. In addition to working with Washington’s SEED School and the Maryland SEED School, Jeff has served on the boards of the Lowell School (Washington, DC); Jobs, Housing, and Recovery (Baltimore); and Boys’ Hope (Baltimore).He is also an Outward Bound alum and outdoor enthusiast.

Jeff and his wife, Tee, have two daughters—Burgundy alumna Tonasia and current Burgundy student Tatum—a dog, Cameron. Jeff also has two older boys, Ed and David. Jeff’s interests include reading, creative writing, and the outdoors.
Geraldine Soriano's picture

Geraldine Soriano

Health Coordinator/Receptionist/Transportation Coordinator
B.S.N., George Mason University
geraldines@burgundyfarm.org
Hugh Squire's picture

Hugh Squire

Director of Auxiliary Services
B.S., University of Delaware
hughs@burgundyfarm.org
Jerry Vaughan's picture

Jerry Vaughan

Assistant Facilities Manager
jerryv@burgundyfarm.org